Tag Archives: databases

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law

The Law Library is pleased to announce that we now offer online access to the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL), publishe dby Oxford University Press. This is one of the most consulted reference sources for students working on international law research projects. If you have joined the Jessup Moot Court team or another extracurricular group related to international law, you will find MPEPIL to be an invaluable resource. The encyclopedia will be available under Law Library databases: http://www.law.stanford.edu/library/legal_databases/

Aditional information about the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law

The MPEPIL online edition — edited under the direction of Professor Dr. Rüdiger Wolfrum, Director at the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law (Max Planck Institute) in Heidelberg, Germany — is a comprehensive analytical resource covering the whole of public international law. MPEPIL includes material from the hard-copy Encyclopedia of Public International Law  published between 1991 and 2001 under Professor Dr. Rudolf Bernhardt, plus online-only articles authored since 2001.  Approximately 1,700 article topics have been selected by the editorial advisory board and allocated to expert authors, who are legal scholars and practitioners from all over the world and who speak in their personal capacity only. Please inquire at the Reference Desk about access to MPEPIL.

New Database – CEB OnLAW

The library is pleased to announce the acquisition of the new OnLAW database from California’s Continuing Education of the Bar.  OnLAW provides access to more than 125 of CEB’s California practice guides.  OnLAW’s “libraries” organize the CEB guides by practice area, namely: business law; criminal law; estate planning; family law; litigation; and real property law.

The guides are complete and up-to-date online versions of CEB’s print practice guides, most of which are also available in the library.

OnLAW is available anywhere on campus.  To access it from outside of campus, be sure to set up your browser for proxy access by following the linked instructions from Stanford University Libraries.

For help in searching the database, feel free to stop in at the reference desk or email:
reference {at} law.stanford.edu

New Corporate Databases from Our Friends at GSB

Courtesy of the Jackson Library at the Graduate School of Business, the entire Stanford campus now has access to two databases:

  • Conference Board — Conference Board reports on key business topics, e.g. executive compensation, corporate contributions, and board practices, etc.
  • Mergent Online — U.S. and international corporate financial histories and profiles. Formerly known as Moody’s.

Need to use these from off campus? Set up proxy access on your computer by following the instructions found here.